First home build mini Tricopter

lynxaz

Yah i will have to look around for one but i am not good at modeling or well to justify buying one.

jipp

So last night I added landing gear to my mini try, by using large cable ties.
It works but I'm pretty sure they wont last very long, reason being the front ones carry almost all the weight and will eventually squish flat under the weigh so will then have to put new ones on.
Is there a different way of doing this or must I perhaps find stronger cable ties"?
Sorry, no pics

do you have a picture im not sure which way you want.

chris.

CharelZa

Here is a quick picture (bad one) with the cable ties "landing gear", as you can see it is already starting to sag/squish under it's own weight and that is less then 24hours after installation and without a battery.

Any ideas to make it more durable but still light weigh?

CharelZa

sorry, double post...

Attachments

• 20150605_062417 (800x450).jpg
    20150605_062417 (800x450).jpg
    167 KB · Views: 6

jipp

id say different zip ties.. at my local ace hardware you can get them in all different widths/thickness. some of them are crazy heavy duty.. that would probably snap your arms as they would not give any bounce. heh.

also what size hobby grade plywood did you use?
Chris.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
I've used cable ties in past, but even when they weren't too squishy, I've found they're too bouncy for my taste -- drop a few inches for a landing and the quad is just as likely to bounce and flip over as not.

My go-to landing gear for multirotors has been 1/2" disks cut from 2" PVC or ABS pipe, zip-tied onto the boom. Just a touch of flex in them to take a hard landing, but still stiff enough the skids are solid . . . and did I mention cheap?