HELPPPPP

paulstung

Hi there all, I'm a complete noob when it comes to anything rc, and am having a problem with my first mini quad build, everything is connected and set up as it should be, this has been checked and double checked, so that is at least one thing I'm sure of. The problem is every time I power it on, and throttle up, it tips to the right, almost as if the left motors are doing something completely different to the right motors, I have calibrated the ESC's through Cleanflight at least 3 times, thinking that was the problem but it still persists. I'm stumped, any ideas guys ?

Specs

Tarot 250 frame
Dys, black series, 1806 2300Kv motors
EMax simon series 12A ESC's
4 way ESC breakout cable
Naze 32 Funfly
5030 props
1500 Turnigy Nanotech battery
Flysky FS-i6 TX/RX

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Paul,

First off Welcome to the forum.

Second, It sounds like it's working on an "Insta-flip" and that always stinks.

Still there's a lot that could be going wrong here, and you've said you've checked the connections . . . a few pictures or a short video might be the next step in getting us the info we need to trouble shoot this.

brettp2004

I know this isn't the answer you're looking for, but it's most likely the one everyone is going to give first. Check your motor direction and prop orientation. That is the number one problem people have and most of the time they think it is right, when it really isn't. It might be helpful if you post a video.

paulstung

Cheers guys, I'll get a video up in the morning, when I have some light, and when my new props arrive, I've gone through 3 sets. :(

Last edited:

cranialrectosis

Faster than a speeding face plant!
Mentor
The other biggie is swapping the ESC connections to the flight controller. If motor 1 ESC is connected to motor 2 on the FC and motor 2 ESC is connected to motor 1 on the FC you will insta-flip.

Photos and video will help if these posts don't.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads