I build, I crash. What am I doing wrong?!?

navillus5

Hi -

Big fan of the work done by the FliteTest crew. I've never flown an RC aircraft, so I decided to start with the FT Tiny trainer. I'm an engineer, so of course I needed to create CAD models to verify the CG and other things like that. The problem is that no matter what I do, I end up crashing almost immediately after launch. There is a small RC group near where I live but the time of year and Covid makes getting help problematic.

I have built and crashed the Tiny Trainer a couple of times. The pictures below are of my latest attempts. That I have tried to get into the sky. In both cases I am using a 3S pack with a Lumenier 2207/2450 kV motor and a 5" prop.

There are a couple of variations from the original design such as:
  • the servo linkages are external
  • the wing tips are shaped as a series of three angles instead of a smooth curve
  • I added some 3D printed parts - the firewall, stops for the wing and an insert that is used to make sure that the rear stabilizer is properly centerer.
  • The elevator is about an inch lower than the original design.
  • I needed to add some putty in the front cavity to get the CG to be about 1/3 of the cord from the leading edge of the wing.
The Version 1 was able to fly, sort of. After hand launching, it rose and curved to the right and then went into a dive and crashed. I tried a couple of more times but it immediately crashed after launch. At this point I needed to replace the nose. I extended it by 1.25", this moved the CG to 30% of the cord and removed the need for the putty.
I also made a new firewall that angled the motor 2 degress to the right and 2 degrees down. The firewall was glued to a motor pod that fit tightly within the nose and was held in place with two skewers.