Help! Seeking prop/motor help breaking the world endurance record for UAVs <50kg with a prandtl wing

Keaton Hare

Psel with a glider endorsement.. No need to explain wave, how to predict / find / use, just know it's harder than the books indicate from experience. Or I am a lousy pilot. Or both.

Otoh, once every so often, we get someone like you who wants to do a duration or altitude remote aircraft. Never get to see the result of their efforts come to fruition.. at least you don't need a pressure suit.
It’s definitely a hard problem to solve.. I have a lot of experienced people helping me (y’all included) so I hope I can manage it . My current model is predicting about 9 hours of battery endurance so we will see how it does. I wouldn’t even be trying without the help of Albion and a few others - our advantage seems to be the prandtl wing and the fact that we are starting simple and cheap - hopefully it’s enough but even if it isn’t it’ll be a fun project. I’ll be sure to update you all once I start building and testing

Keaton Hare

Autonomous flying at 30.000+ft.
Surely you will need the authority from the FAA and have to meet stringent collision avoidance criteria for each and every flight if flown in the USA
we will be using some waivers for flight testing, and ideally we will be testing at the FAR site. The full size version will either be off the coast out of US airspace or flown over Mexico

Piotrsko

Master member
When I was gliding there was a zone marked out for flight into wave that was pretty much unrestricted, no comm, no transponder, BUT, it's CONUS iirc between MT Whitney and Ridgecrest. Just had to call FAA preflight for entry and they would keep the military iron aware for you. Unsure what the procedure is currently. Used to be marked on the sectionals with a border

There's wave lift out in the ocean? New one on me. Theoretically is possible.......

Keaton Hare