Guillows TBF Avenger #509

TexMechsRobot

Posted a thousand or more times
I'm going to be starting a Bird of Time kit build sometime towards the end of April and I'm going stir crazy until then. I decided to pop over to the LHS and see what they had on the shelves that I could mess around with over the next few weeks. I already knew that they didn't have high quality kits and a limited selection of the kits they do carry. I settled on the TBF Avenger by Guillows because it has a smallish wing span, is laser cut, and I haven't built a TBF Avenger before. Before I even bought it I was expecting poor wood, heavy tissue, and less than stellar motor parts. I was dead on. Luckily, I don't actually care if this flies well. I bought it to fill time and not really to be a top performer. I'm still learning FF rubber so I thought I could use this air frame to experiment with things and not feel too much sadness if I destroy it in the process. I am going to purchase some better tissue and motor parts from FAI or Easy Built Models and I'll probably use balsa stock I have on hand in place of their stringer material. Other than that, I'll be using all of their laser cut parts.

1.jpg

2.jpg

TexMechsRobot

It is a bit delicate (although the dense, heavy wood from Guillows makes construction a bit easier). I plan to get some peanut scale from Peck Polymers here in a couple of months as well. I think those would be fun to build and fly.

nhk750

Aviation Enthusiast
I know what you mean about stir crazy, I'm going crazy wanting to build on my new system.

earthsciteach

Getting into endurance free flight is an affliction that I am afraid will happen to me some day. Those planes are so simple and light that the smallest nuance can make a massive difference in flight. So fascinating!

Joker 53150

Mmmmmmm, balsa.
Mentor