Transferring plans to foam

IanLeMasters

Total noob. And I hate to bring up a subject that's probably beaten to death. So your welcome to just post a link.

What's the easiest or best way to get my printed plans to the foam?

Scale is good. I printed them on card stock here at home.

Thanks so much.

Can't wait to get started.

CavRecon

From one noob to another, please share! I am finding the process of printing, taping, cutting, glueing, cutting, tracing, cutting to be really tedious.

Yes, I know the quick answer is "speed build kits!" and have ordered a few of those. But knowing that the FT team is keen on getting folks into the hobby cheaply, I want to share with others who may not be able to afford.

Are there better/best practices to speed up the process?

kacknor

Build another!
From one noob to another, please share! I am finding the process of printing, taping, cutting, glueing, cutting, tracing, cutting to be really tedious.

Yes, I know the quick answer is "speed build kits!" and have ordered a few of those. But knowing that the FT team is keen on getting folks into the hobby cheaply, I want to share with others who may not be able to afford.

Heh Heh... That changes only with a speed build kit OR your own large format printer OR having somebody else print them up for you.

It's the truth of any decent outcome. The preparation is the most work and important. The GOOD tricks, IMO, are the ones that allow for re-use of the plans and avoidance of duplicate effort. Dollar Tree poster board and 3M Super 77 I like. If I want to make a second plane I can start with cutting foam, not printing plans. Helps a lot.

Not my idea, and I can't find the original posts so can't give credit. If somebody can I'd appreciate a link.

Basically the plans are printed, taped and cut (close to edges, not to edges) and then using 3M Super 77 are glued to the poster board. Then they are cut to the edge.