Frsky taranis: receiverrelated and other questions

Ludodg

I'll start with an apology because it might be so that this information can be found rather easely on the net ..
but I got confused. Might also be because of my English not being perfect ... :rolleyes:

I am rather new in RC-flying, now attempting and learning to fly with some foamies and a Quad.
I have bought a Taranis X9D Plus, which came with an X8R-receiver.
Very quality stuff (allthough I also still love my very simple but nice-performing Orange T-six).

1- I would like to buy some more receivers for the Taranis. Some simple ones for my foam-planes, so where 4 channels should suffice ...
But there are a bunch of these FrSky-receivers, and lots of them mention something like "only compatible with ..." of the FrSky-site.
Is my X9D-radio backwarts-compatible with all these receivers?
Which receivers should I choose (still hesitating between telemetry or no telemetry)?

2- Went to the OpenTX-forum ... wanted to download and install the link-software .. but read something about FrSky using their own version of OpenTX ...
So should or can't I use the OpenTX-link software (OpenTX Companion)?
Shouldn't I update my Taranis in the future? Or wait for an update from FrSKy?

thx for all info!

pressalltheknobs

Posted a thousand or more times
1. For a good source of information on the various FrSky receivers you can start here...

http://www.alofthobbies.com/radio-gear/frsky-non-telemetry.html
http://www.alofthobbies.com/radio-gear/frsky-telemetry-system/d-series.html
http://www.alofthobbies.com/radio-gear/frsky-telemetry-system/x-series.html

For park flyer foamy you could use this one
http://www.alofthobbies.com/v8r4-ii.html

For a little be more money this one is popular. It supports 8channels with via CPPM which is great for multi-copter use. Its small and you can use it on foamies small models too but you do have to figure out where to run the diversity antennas
http://www.alofthobbies.com/frsky-d4r-ii.html