Hall effect sensors not just for Taranis Gimbals but for ESC integrated motors?

makattack

Winter is coming
Mentor
An interesting development from TI:

http://www.ti.com/ww/en/mcu/instaspin/instaspin-quadcopter.shtml

It sounds like they have two designs Instaspin-FOC and Instaspin-Motion. Sensorless and one using Hall Effect sensors to detect accurate motor positioning for better control. Maybe use 3 phase brushless motors instead of stepper motors for 3D printers / CNC's, etc?

Kind of funny how they use plush esc's for comparison.

http://www.ti.com/tool/TIDA-00916?k...h=instaspin esc&tisearch=Search-EN-Everything

Last edited:

willsonman

Builder Extraordinare
Mentor
This is truly interesting! I've always wondered if I could MAKE my own ESCs but this is an entire new level. I wonder how you could increase the current capability, as I'm no electrical engineer.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Making your own ESC is doable -- the earliest brushless ESCs for model aviation were designed by model aviation hobbyists to drive motors scavenged from CD Rom drives -- and most ESCs these days are minor tweaks on tweaked designs, and fundamentally aren't that complex . . . but DIY reliably? less than what they sell for? hard metrics to beat these days on a small production scale.

I get that TI is trying to break into the drone industry, but this looks like a solution in search of a problem. They've replaced the ATMEL or SiLabs controller with one of theirs, created a proprietary ROM (with a licensable control interface :p ) and built . . .

. . . an overpriced, oversized, heavily licensed, first generation KISS ESC.