I really don't know where else to post this question

buzzbomb

I know nothing!
Since I'm a noob, and we're supposed to post noob questions here, I figured this would be the right place. I'm currently building a Mini Scout and the cool curves on the back of the wing just strike me as awesomely cool. Awesomely. Cool. Curves.

I did a quick Google Image search of biplanes, and those curves are not common. Do they serve a purpose other than aesthetic? Here's a pic of what I'm talking about:

IMG_0105.JPG

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
I think those scallops have something to do with how the old fabric wings may have stretched and sagged giving that effect.

buzzbomb

I know nothing!
I think those scallops have something to do with how the old fabric wings may have stretched and sagged giving that effect.
Assuming the capability to build a spar across the back, I can't see it. How hard could it have been just to put some straight wood on the backside? Those scallops were made on purpose.

buzzbomb

I know nothing!
In retrospect... I'm imagining the vertical spars, and then stretching fabric over them, and then trying to bring the fabric taught... Weight is bad. Let the fabric just curve... OK. I can see that. Given that scenario, it'd be really difficult to have the wing surface flat at the back. Wow.

When I close my eyes and just think about it. Wow.

buzzbomb

I know nothing!
Nope. I've thought it out and straight is just so much simpler and safer (If you're sitting in the plane). What gives?

cranialrectosis

Faster than a speeding face plant!
Mentor
In the olden days the word 'dope' meant something totally different than it does today.