New (technical) guy needs advice on buying an aircraft.

WA4OSH

I've outgrown a cheap sub 249g "throw-away" learner drone. I'm interested in buying or building my next aircraft. I'm an engineer and Ham Radio operator, fully capable of ordering parts, following directions, soldering. etc. I would like to be able to lift a 1-2kg payload (max) (for carrying my radio equipment) and would like some decent flight time (30min-1hr)?. I'm also currently taking a training course for my Part107 license so that I can fly commercially. I have ambitions of building a VTOL in the future, but do want to learn how to fly fixed-wing aircraft or perfect my drone flying skills. Any recommendations?

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
Welcome to the forums.
Flying a plane is completely different from flying a quad. If you have never flown a rc plane you need to start with a trainer. If you want to build, the tiny trainer, simple cub, ft explorer, scorch and bushwhacker are just a few of the FT planes that make great trainers. If you prefer to buy a plane ready to fly, the carbon cub, apprentice and the aero scout all from Horizon Hobby are great choices.

Here is some articles that may be of interest.
https://www.flitetest.com/articles/best-first-airplanes
https://www.flitetest.com/articles/beginner-series-choosing-a-plane

My #1 advice, if you have a rc club in the area, join it. They will be happy to teach you to fly a plane.

Last edited:

FlyerInStyle

Elite member