Trimming your plane - hands off

danskis

Master member
After 3 seasons of flying with no instructor I'm still learning (of course it won't stop). When I first started I was happy just to get the plane launched and have it go in the general direction I wanted it to - instead of some random direction that seemed to have no correlation to what I did with the transmitter. After that I was happy just to go home from the field with no repairs (still am). Slowly I learned to do some basic aerobatics including rolls, loops and Immelmans.

I've recently maidened a couple of new planes and as I was flying one of the other pilots said "you should trim it out" What he meant was the plane should be trimmed to fly straight and level with half to 2/3 power hands off. I don't usually do this but I did for these two planes. What a difference it makes the next time you fly. The plane is totally predictable, it goes where you point it with smooth controlled turns and is a joy to fly. If you're not doing this I highly recommend you give it a try.

Of course the next thing is to make sure its balanced correctly. I've heard your plane should be able to fly inverted with very little stick input if its balanced correctly. Would a better pilot than me care to comment on this?

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
...Of course the next thing is to make sure its balanced correctly. I've heard your plane should be able to fly inverted with very little stick input if its balanced correctly. Would a better pilot than me care to comment on this?
I would not recommend using inverted flight as an indication of correct CG. The wing type will have a huge effect on inverted flight. A flat bottom wing will always require quite a bit of stick input to fly inverted. While a symmetrical wing will require much less stick input to fly inverted. The amount of down thrust will also effect inverted flight.