Help! Ubec vs bec

Rodpil

Hi I'm somewhat new to building fixed wings. I have been using cheaper motor, esc kits fro Ali Express. I have started printing planes so figured I'd spend a bit more on electronics and picked up some Emax BlHeli ESCs. The ESCs I have been using were BEC the new ones are UBEC. If I hook up the UBEC ESCs to channel 3 like I am used to the servos power up but motor does nothing. I have a steady 5vdc on the FC. I have tried programming the ESC as the manual says with the transmitter but cant get anywhere. Do I need another module to go in parallel with the ESC now or what am I missing?

Shurik-1960

BEC ESC has 3 wires: "+" "-" and a signal (the wire that controls the engine speed) . UBEC is a simple 5 volt receiver power supply, which is used for non-motorized models. I didn't quite understand your thoughts. Draw a diagram of what and where you want to connect and it will be easier for us to give advice.

Rodpil

So does the signal wore not do anything on a ubec esc set up?
This is what I have. Servos channel 2 and 4 motor channel 3

Attachments

• E8695AAC-115E-4938-ADFA-AF555CDBC189.jpeg
    E8695AAC-115E-4938-ADFA-AF555CDBC189.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 0

Shurik-1960

This is the first time I see such a UBEC. Usually the output is 5 volts , your 3 A . Why there are 3 wires at the output - I don't know. Put the usual ESC and you will be happy.

Rodpil

Lol to many other RCs between mine and the kids. I have used up all the other ESCs in them and thought I would try something that would handle a bit bigger battery. The output is 5vdc, so thats proper but seems like the signal wire doesn't do anything. Been looking around and a bunch of ubec ESCs are a similar set up. Didn't think it would be much different then the traditional ones but I guess I am wrong lol.

Rhaps

Elite member