What's your LiPo battery workflow? Looking for best practices through your experience...

I'm fairly new to electric flight and have discovered a few key LiPo management practices I should've been doing, as well as discovered that I've been over-concerned about certain other aspects of LiPo management. What does your LiPo "workflow" look like around a flying session? Specifically:
  1. How do you "charge up" to prep for a flying session? Things like equipment used, timing, organization, etc all helpful
  2. How do you manage battery usage/swaps/charging at the field?
  3. How do you store and/or maintain batteries afterward? (Discharge? safety equipment? Organization? etc)
And anything else noteworthy you'd like to share!

quorneng

Master member
I fly from a field very close to where I live so I fly alone & rarely take more than 1 plane at at time.
As a result I only charge the LiPo(s) I will need either the night before or before I leave.
As soon as I get back home I always put the LiPo on the 'storage' charge setting on my charger. This setting will automatically either bring a LiPo up to 3.85V on each cell or reduce if the cells are above 3.85V. I am always present when I charge or storage charge a LiPo.
I try to be 'kind' to my LiPo by arranging that most of my planes only discharge at no more than a 20C rate at full power and I try to use full power as little as possible.
My rule is if a LiPo is significantly warm at the end of a flight I note I am reducing its life every time I fly it like that.
It works for me.

I've been told by experienced members that charging the night before is fine. I don't want to spend a lot of time in the morning waiting on the charger.

They sell Lipo bags, like a little fireproof pocketbook I guess. I did some research and decided a steel ammo box best suits my needs for storage at home.

I use this charger

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00L5YBJI2/?tag=lstir-20
41kWEVlTW5L._AC_UL320_SR320,320_.jpg