Would you kind folk share your thoughts on my EzUhf Lite spectrum graph?

Jerry

Hi all,

I'm still pretty new to the UHF side and I am setting up my reciever. It is not installed, only plugged into the computer via long usb extension and sitting on my powered up quad. Its a QAV400 with an Eagle Tree Vector and FRSKY receiver. I had everything powered up, including all fpv gear (currently 5.8 600mw) and 2.4 radio gear. How does this graph look to your experienced eyes? Yes, I am working on my HAM as soon as I can, to stay as legal as I can.

Thanks for your time everyone!
Jerry

test.PNG

joshuabardwell

Mentor
I don't know about UHF or the 433 band specifically, but I am a wireless network engineer by trade, and have some familiarity with spectrum analysis, so I'll tell you what I see.

The noise floor is around -110 dBm, which I would consider to be normal. There is a narrowband spike at around 432 MHz. I would want to identify that spike if possible. You have "record peaks" turned on, which I think will lock in the maximum value seen on a frequency. If the spike was a temporary, short occurrence, "record peaks" would make it look like it was happening continuously. Therefore, I would consider turning off "record peaks" and looking at the instantaneous values to see if this transmission was a fluke, or if it was a regular occurrence.

I did some searching and found this sample image (http://beta.ivc.no/wiki/index.php/File:Ezuhf_spectrum_analyzer.png) which shows a spike in the same place, so that suggests this is some common thing.

The noise floor is slightly less stable above around 434 MHz, suggesting that there may be some very weak interference in that area. This is probably irrelevant, due to its extreme weakness.

What frequency range will your transmitter be using?

Last edited:

Jerry

Thank you for the quick reply!