Get design from Plans to Foamboard

erad05

Hi everybody,

i'm new here in the forum and i'm new to build from foam boards.
After searching the Internet I found here in Switzerland a Hobbyshop that sells the original FT Foamboards.
It's called "Insider Modellbau Schweiz". www.insider-modellbau.ch
Thanks to FT Team, I downloaded the FT Versawing plans and I got the Foamboards today. I'm excited to start building my first wing with pusher option!!!!:p

Now my question: What is the easiest way to get the design on the plans to the foam board? Any experience.

Thanks .... Peter Adler
from Zurich, Switzerland

lrussi750

Rogue Pilot
Mentor
Hello! Welcome to the forum. I usually tape together the plans and cut them down into smaller sections. I work one section at a time. I pin the section of the plans I'm working on down to the foamboard using T pins in a few locations so the plans cannot move. Then I use a pin to poke holes through the plans into the foamboard. Once I poke all the holes for that section I remove the plans and use a razor blade and a metal ruler/straight edge to cut out the part. I make all the cuts straight at first and then cut the curves second. I then work on the score cuts and cut-outs last. I stack each part out of the way in a safe place until all the parts are cut out and then its time to start building. It will get easier with time and experience and you'll figure out what works best for you.

kevinjt4

I pretty much do the same thing that lrussi750 does but actually cut each part out of the printed plan then pin it to the foam. The I outline the plans onto the foam board for every corner and straight line. Kinda like a semi- dotted line but not all the way around the plan part. Then for curved areas i outline the entire curve to get it right. Then use a metal straight edge and a very sharp xacto blade, or two. Time consuming, sure, but the plane looks very clean and sharp.