please help, can you explain fail safe

Gainey

Hi everyone I am new to fpv and have a turnigy 9x v2.

I am looking at adding the frsky djt module http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/...ack_for_JR_w_Telemetry_Module_V8FR_II_RX.html, will this just clip in and how much more range will it have. Will the frsky module let me know when I am getting close to out of range.

Could some one explain what failsafe is and how to set it up, as I am also looking at getting this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/...Pilot_System_With_GPS_and_Return_To_Home.html, the turnigy flight stabiliser with rth. If I get this will I still need to setup a fail safe and how do I do that.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Hey Gainey , welcome to the forum!

Never played with the FRSKY gear, but their Telemetry based RX's can send back RSSI (received signal strength indicator), wich is an indicator you're nearing full range. be advised, your radio link is dependant on the orentation of your airframe to your Transmitter. if you haven't placed your antennas in good places, you could get a weakening RSSI, then as you turn around you suddenly loose the link becasue your antennas find themselves in the airframe/motor/ESC/battery/whatever's shadow.

Failsafe is a feature of the RX, and it generally has a few flavors:

- no failsafe: servo/ESC commands stop as soon as the link is lost.
- preset failsafe: servo commands go to a predefined "position" when the link is lost. there are a handfull of flavors of this, and it generally not advertised which is on which RX.
-- flight channels only: only the first 4 channels (T,A,E,R) go to a predefined command while the remainder stay locked at "last known command"
-- All channels: all the servo commands go to a predefined state
- holding failsafe: All the channels hold the last known servo command (some of these will exclude Throttle, which goes to no command which disarms most ESCs)