A total noob with sky high ambitions

Rajan

Hello everyone.

A small introduction. I am a database architect by profession and am based out of Bangalore, a city in India. I am a major DIY fan and have dabbled with automobiles, electronics, carpentry and a few other things.

My curiosity in this arena started with something totally unexpected. I had ordered some electronics stuff which was delivered to me. On opening the package, I realized that there was a mixup by the courier and I had been delivered a GPS module meant for a RC helicopter. So, I signed up on an Indian RC forum and started hunting for the rightful owner. Eventually, the courier company collected the item back. Thus began an interest in flying and I started reading up a lot on how to go about this. The areas that really interested me were aerial video and FPV. So, Quadcopters were the natural choice.

After lurking in shadows for a while and trying to understand what it takes, I finally decided to take the plunge and looked around for shopping lists. Here is the list I have put together, based on several sources. I am looking at this as an intermediate build and will definitely be building a more advanced quad in the near future. Without much ado, here is what I have ordered:

Q450 V3 Glass Fiber Quadcopter Frame 450mm - Integrated PCB Version
Turnigy D2830-11 1000kv Brushless Motor
Turnigy Plush 30amp Speed Controller
Slow Fly Electric Prop 9047
Hobbyking KK2.1.5 Multi-rotor LCD Flight Control Board With 6050MPU And Atmel 644PA
Hobby King 2.4Ghz 4Ch Tx & Rx V2 (Mode 2)

I have also ordered the necessary connectors, servo leads, USBAsp programmer, ESC flashing hardware etc.