Help! select an airfoil with high lift for low speeds

Look74482

I am a student and I am trying to make an Rc airplane about a competition in my country. Well, I am thinking for a fixed wing rc plane and I am doing different aerodynamic analysis(XFLR5) in order to select an airfoil with high lift for low speeds(cruise speed 10 m/s) (low Reynolds Number).
So, I would like your opinion about, does an airfoil play an important role for such a small Uav( approx. Total mass 1kg, wingspan 1.5m, chord 0.25m) and if yes do you suggest any airfoil that will maximise my plane performance.

Thank you!

quorneng

Master member
Look74482
The aerofoil section does play a part but a very low Reynolds numbers it is not the most important factor but wing loading usually is. Wing loading is area/weight the planes weight also has a big effect on the minimum fight speed.
To get the full benefit of any wing section it has to accurately maintained over the entire wing. This in practise means that for a given size wing you have to make a judgment between the accuracy of the wing section and the structural weight needed to create it. At very low Reynolds numbers the bias of this judgment moves towards achieving the best structural efficiency. This in turn means selecting the best component material(s) for the load they have to carry. Understanding the load each component of an airframe has to carry is complex to say the least.
One further point. The power required to fly is directly proportional to the plane's mass. If the plane is electric then the battery weight and expected flight duration is significant too. You mentioned a plane mass of 1kg. Is this a competition requirement or an estimate on your part?
1kg for a plane with a 1.5m x 0.25 chord wing is not a light weight but it does depend on what the plane has to do.