Another New Guy

tccanoe

I've gotten hooked on your/our YouTube videos. Well done and fun. But (ain't there always one of those?) I'm new to this world and I don't understand a lot of the acronyms and lingo. How about an easily accessible glossary of terms and abbreviations. Something along the lines of "FliteTest for Dummies." You guys never talk down to anyone and that's the reason I feel comfortable asking.
Now where is that beautiful river featured in the DJI Inspire 1 demo? Might want to take a trip there myself.
Tanks,
Tccanoe

IFlyRCstuff

Flyer Of Many Things
Okay Here goes, be prepared for amazingness.
ABBREVIATIONS/ACRONYMS AND MEANINGS
ESC-electronic speed control
BEC-battery eleiminator circuit, used for gliders and gas, usually built into ESC for motored aircraft
FPV- firstt person view
LOS-line of sight
DTFB-dollar tree foam board
FC-flight controller (multirotors usually)
KV-kilovolts (complicated, means turns faster with more, 1000 turns per volt)
TX-transmitter
RX-reciever
RTF-ready to fly
BNF/TX-R - bind n fly/transmitter ready
PNF/RX-R - plug and fly/ reciever ready (ESC, reciever, battery)
ARF-almost ready to fly (various electronics)
DLG-discus launch glider
AUW-all up weight
LVC-low voltage cutoff
EDF-electric ducted fan (thanks Kurt0326)
prop-propeller
ail-aileron
rud-rudder
ele-elevator

a few I missed, but this should help

COMMON TERMS
elevon-combination of elevator and aileron on two control surfaces
control surfaces-the things that move up and down on wings and tail
servo-what makes them move
control rod/arm-links servo to control surface
control horn-connects control rod to control surface
linkage stopper- not always used, connects rod to horn and/or servo

Let us know of anything I missed

Last edited:

Kurt0326

Your ADD Care Bear
Mentor
Um,

Prop saver- prop-saver.jpg
EDF- electric ducted fan
Spinner- nose.jpg

AkimboGlueGuns

Biplane Guy
Mentor