Battery Issue/Question about Taranis Q X7S

lifeisgood68

Hello! I just got the Tinyhawk 2 drone and binded it to a taranis x7s q. I am a newbie and have been doing my first flights, but see that my controller goes from 8v to 6v in less than ten minutes. Is that usual or am I doing something wrong? Tips about charging? I also attached photos of the batter and screen. Hope ya can help!

Attachments

• IMG_5011.JPG
    IMG_5011.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_5012.JPG
    IMG_5012.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_5013.JPG
    IMG_5013.JPG
    2.4 MB · Views: 0

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
Hello! I just got the Tinyhawk 2 drone and binded it to a taranis x7s q. I am a newbie and have been doing my first flights, but see that my controller goes from 8v to 6v in less than ten minutes. Is that usual or am I doing something wrong? Tips about charging? I also attached photos of the batter and screen. Hope ya can help!

Yes that is normal for the type of battery pack that came with the radio. Nicads are basically AA bateries with the ability to be recharged. they also tend to need conditioning to achieve peak performance. If you cycle them from full to half and recharge them a few times perfromance should get a little better. But even for nicads that seems like low times. Do you by chance have the screen back lit all the time? That eats power fast. I set mine up on a switch for when I actually need the light.

Also this is why everyone switches over to lipo or life batteries to power the radio. They hold peak voltage longer but have a fast end of available power drop off. replacements are easily found and fairly cheap but would also require a separate charger as the internal one to the radio is not meant for lipo / life packs.

lifeisgood68