Build weekend Made another big wing

sumone

Crappy weather this weekend so i took the opportunity to make a couple more wings as i have been without a big wing for about 6 months and i miss setting myself up in a chair for long flights with a bigger battery. Its another no plan plane and i won't get to maiden it till next weekend (weather permitting) . But thought i would share a picture of it. My last bigwing flew good and was able to get long flight times out of it. This one seems to balance pretty good and has plenty of room for battery CG. Adjustment.
Fingers crossed she is as good as my last one.
will post maiden next week.
Resized_20190812_205620_4954.jpeg

sumone

@sumone - I was just watching your other thread flying your wing - very impressive - I am sure this one will rip too! I have a flat nose Versa to try out when the weather improves - any advice for the first time in the air with a wing?

I'm no expert but this is what seems to work for me when I maiden a new wing .

* Fair amount of expo (you can Dial it back if need be once you get a better feel for how it flys.)

* Reduce the travel of your servos ( No need to have massive throws to start of with. Again you can add more travel if needed after you get more comfortable with the wing. )

* Before my first throw i add a slight bit of up elevator (Reflex) to the elevons so there is less chance of it diving into the ground on launch.

* I Prefer a side launch ( Just my prefered method and leaves 1 hand already on the controls.) 3/4 throttle at about 30 Deg. Giving it a bit of air speed before it leaves my hand .

* once It leaves my hand i get ready to compensate for it to bank left or right . If it's only a slight roll i compensate with a little constant aileron stick movement to correct it / Gain altitude back the throttle off a bit and hit the trim switch in the opposite direction it wants to roll until I'm flying level.