David windestal tricopter build problems

Jonkreuz

1. Hello, I'm new to building drones and was hoping I could get some help with a few problems I am facing. What I have built is the very popular David Windestal based tricopter. I am running the kk2 1.5 with the newest steveis firmware installed. Its all built, and I have spent hours trying to get it to hover. My first issue is arming the kk2. Up until now, I have not had a problem. When I would move the stick on my transmitter down and to the right, the board would arm. Now, after I played with some settings in mixer editor and adjusted some trims, the board will not arm. Ive tried everything, ive put the settings back to where they were when it armed, ive recalibrated the escs multiple times, ive done ACC calibration several times, ive tried putting all trims to 0, nothing will get the board to arm and im at a loss of what to do. 2. When my board will arm, I still cannot get the tricopter to hover. I have balanced the props, calibrated the escs, set the trims to 0, done acc calibration, and used all the recommended settings from david windestals kk2 tricopter setup video. Sometimes my tricopter will spin uncontrollably. Sometimes ill try adjusting a trim, and it will flip one way or the other without ever lifting off, indicating one motor working harder then the others. Ive recently tried using self level mode, it does not seem to make any difference either. Everything seems to work and respond well, the servo on the tilt motor responds well and is not too twitchy, and I do not have much or any motor lag that I know of. I just cannot get it to hover and im getting very frustrated. Any assistance of any kind would be very helpful and appreciated. Thanks

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 11

cranialrectosis

Faster than a speeding face plant!
Mentor