Electric Conversion Help

Noob

Hello,

I am fairly new to the hobby. I have been flying for about a year and a half, mostly all the Flite Test planes. I feel that I am ready and want to move up to a little bigger planes. I secured a balsa plane from a relative and want to convert it to electric but am stuck on what motor and ESC combo to get for it. The plane is 612g with nothing in it except the servos that came with it. Below are some pictures. Any recommendations would be great!

IMG_0143[1].JPG

IMG_0144[1].JPG

IMG_0145[1].JPG

IMG_0146[1].JPG

IMG_0148[1].JPG

This is the motor I took off of the plane.
IMG_0149[1].JPG

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Threre are Rules of Thumb (RoT) for glow->electric watt conversions . . . but I dont' have the background to ID that motor at a glance, so . . .

Going by the 100W/lb RoT, and assuming the battery, ESC and motor bring the All Up Weight to 1000g (3s2200 = 200g, ESC + Motor ~100g, 100g of fudge room) you're looking at needing 200-250W of power. From the clearance, your LG have limited you to < 12" prop, and probably < 10". Again, can't tell at a glance what the original prop diameter was, but probably a good range to shoot for.

I'd look for 3S capable motors, which can efficently draw 20-25A. Prop size will set the KV -- I'd wager the 1300kv region will want a 9" prop, 1500kv a 8" prop, 1700kv a 7" prop (for that wattage on 3S). Pick your prop, go look at the motors by kv and wattage, then look at the props they recommend.

For the battery, I'd go for one of the more popular sizes -- 3s2200. 15c is enough, but might want to look at getting 20-30c if you plan to keep flying things a little bigger/faster/stronger.

For the ESC, size it to the motor. If max draw from the motor is 30A, go about 10% higher -- 33 will do, but the nearest size you'll find is 35-40A. If the motor's max draw is less, you can safely pick a smaller ESC.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor