Hello! + a BEC Question.

scott12354

Hi everyone,
I really like what you guys have going here, it's a great source of information for someone fairly new like me! I'm from Canada near Vancouver. I fly for a living in the real world in search and rescue, and fly a drone and a small quadcopter in my spare time.

I recently built a FT mustang mini, and it all went together very well. The final product looks awesome, the only problem is the ESC stopped working. For the life of me I can't figure out why. Everything was working perfectly and then all of a sudden I plugged in the BEC wires into the receiver and the ESC shut down. I pulled the BEC wires out of the receiver and the ESC booted up again (lights and motor beeps), plugged it back in and it shut off again. I used a multimeter and checked the voltage across the BEC lead 5v, but when it's plugged into the receiver it drops below 2v. In my mind I blew the BEC somehow, but the thing is there is no sign of physical damage, heat, I never saw smoke or heard any sparks. Anyway, I ordered a new ESC and an external UBEC just in case. The original setup I had used an afro 12a ESC and an orangeRx with 4 9g servos powered from a 3s 850 mah lipo.

My question now is was I pushing the BEC too hard with a 3s and 4 servos? It heated up (on servos only, no motor movement), but never too hot to handle, or melt plastic. I figured I would design some kind of air cooling flap for the ESC in flight because of the heat.

If you're reading thanks for putting up with the text wall! I could use some help and would really appreciate your insights.

I look forward to more FT model building in the future!

Thanks,
Scott

pressalltheknobs

Posted a thousand or more times
Some thoughts...