New Member, need advice!

J188

Cheers everyone! Jake here from Toronto, Canada. Been a fan of FT for over a year and have been watching a ton of their videos - recently took the plunge in RC planes and purchased their FT Tutor starter kit. I'm quite new to the hobby but I plan to spend a good amount of time this year getting better, learning more and getting as much experience as I can. That being said, I've run into some issues and if anyone could point me in the right direction, I'd be thrilled!

Had my maiden flight with the Tutor a month ago, in less desirable conditions: Winter, snowy, and 40kph winds. Had it up for a good while but crashed after a strong gust flipped the plane in midair and couldn't recover it. I had it shelved until recently where I got some more materials to repair some of the foamboard pieces. When I plugged the battery into the ESC though it immediately smoked up... following, the ESC got extremely hot as if I just touched a stovetop on high heat. All my connections were good and same as before, and all worked well during my first flight... so what happened?

Did my ESC and motor short? would love to know what I did wrong. I'm guessing the motor is fried but is my ESC toast as well?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also, are these sorts of things something I should be expecting to happen often?

For context: All parts from the FT Tutor starter kit - motor, and ESC from powerpack B

FlyerInStyle

Elite member
Cheers everyone! Jake here from Toronto, Canada. Been a fan of FT for over a year and have been watching a ton of their videos - recently took the plunge in RC planes and purchased their FT Tutor starter kit. I'm quite new to the hobby but I plan to spend a good amount of time this year getting better, learning more and getting as much experience as I can. That being said, I've run into some issues and if anyone could point me in the right direction, I'd be thrilled!