Help needed choosing components a cheaper way that trial and error!

Dan-27

Hello. I'm fairly new to the hobby and I'm having a nightmare with the drive systems.

I could really use some advise with a couple of questions I've got, having burnt out 4 motors and 3 ESCs in the last month!

I assume that once experienced its easy to choose suitable prop / motor combos but after trawling the internet I can't find any easy way of working it out. For example I've just built my second versa wing, a blunt nose, yesterday I converted it into a tractor style plane and put what I thought was a suitable motor the front, a chunky 35mm 1400kv out runner. It didn't have enough grunt with the 8 x 4 prop so I put a 10 x 4.5 on at which point I cooked the ESC.

I've just bought a NTM Prop Drive Series 2826 1000kv motor and a 30A ESC for it, hoping that'll be enough.

Next question, how do you bench test without trashing more components? I had an ESC I wasn't sure about as I knew the motor had died in the crash, I plugged in a new park300 and it fried the motor. With this blunt nose ESC issue should I bench test the motor with a working ESC or cut my losses and scrap both motor and ESC? Also without bench testing what am I looking for to determine if the brushless motor is dead?

How on earth do you drill out props to fit on the motor shaft?

Lastly the park300 was the recommended motor for the FT flyer, I bought it and took ages to work out how to use the prop saver, but I couldn't get the prop to remain centralised. I bought a pack of adapters, but none fitted. Thankfully I have access to a metal lathe and was able to turn myself some that worked. Am I doing something wrong? I've yet to land with a conventional prop fitting without it breaking so would like to use a prop saver wherever possible.

Here's part of the death toll from last months flying!!

image.jpg