How close is the Sim to the real thing?

Barnaby

Hello,

I’m still relatively new to the RC world, it was the little helicopters that got me hooked and I still love to fly them, and have progressed and really enjoy the challenges of collective pitch helicopters and my Blade 180CFX. I’m not a 3D flyer, but like bombing around doing figures of eight and practicing hovering in all orientations.

My interests have expanded a bit due, in the most part, from seeing a Flite Test video, and finding it so refreshing, the helicopter world can be quite intense with a huge focus on hard 3D rather than sports flying!

Anyway to get to my point, I’ve only recently started using a Sim for helicopter training, and I wanted to know if flying planes would interest me too, so I decided I’d risk getting a second Sim for planes, Arerofly RC (I’m a Mac user so there is a limited choice). I’m enjoying flying planes in it although the other (helicopter only) sim seems more accurate for helicopters. All I’m doing when flying planes is taking off and landing, figuring like hovering with a helicopter it’s perhaps the most important skill to learn.

My confusion is that I can fly the Sbach and the Adrenaline, both acrobatic planes, far easier than I can either of the trainers, and when it comes to landing both the acrobatic planes seem so much easier and I rarely crash, the trainer on the other hand I usually crash or bounce a dozen times down the runway.

On the one hand I wonder if my helicopter flying has helped me with the acrobatic planes as in they have similar tendencies they go where you point until you tell them otherwise. But on the other hand I find it difficult to believe that the acrobatic planes are in reality easier to land than a trainer.

Based on the trainer experience I almost feel inclined to buy an acrobatic plane over a trainer as a first real plane, but I suspect the reality would be a little different. ;-)