Linkage Stopper to Servo Arm installation

Hayduke27

Hi everyone!

I am pretty new to this whole thing, as I just recently discovered all of the options for electric RC planes. I am having a blast, and just ordered my third speed build kit.

My question is this: I am working on a Storch, and I need to install the linkage stoppers in the servo arms. This is my first time doing so, and I have found that the linkage stoppers included in the kit are too big to fit through the holes in the nylon servo arm. Should I go ahead and just try to drill the hole out to make it bigger? Or should I maybe try to use heat? Does anyone have any advice for this step? Thanks!!

Blackbeltrrf

Hi everyone!

I am pretty new to this whole thing, as I just recently discovered all of the options for electric RC planes. I am having a blast, and just ordered my third speed build kit.

My question is this: I am working on a Storch, and I need to install the linkage stoppers in the servo arms. This is my first time doing so, and I have found that the linkage stoppers included in the kit are too big to fit through the holes in the nylon servo arm. Should I go ahead and just try to drill the hole out to make it bigger? Or should I maybe try to use heat? Does anyone have any advice for this step? Thanks!!

I just drill mine out to fit. I am glad you are having fun as that is what is important!

Spitfire222

Not a skater
Just drill the hole out, or ream it with a knife. But keep in mind two things:

1. Try to make the hole a tight, (but not too tight) fit so that there is freedom of movement as the surface deflects, but no slop in the linkage.

2. If the servo arm is pretty thin width-wise, consider drilling out one of the other holes closer towards the center of the servo. You rarely need that max throw potential on the servo side, and this way, you minimize the (already very low) chance of the pushrod linkage breaking through the arm.

Hayduke27