Motor Specs: Why Does a Lower-Pitch Prop, at Lower Speed, Produce More Thrust?

OkieDave

https://store.flitetest.com/emax-gt2215-1100kv-motor/

Look at the specs on the 2215/09. When using a 10x4.7, the motor makes 8300 RPM and 1250g thrust. When using the same diameter, higher-pitched 10x6, it makes 8850 RPM and 1140g thrust. That doesn't make sense to me; first, a higher-pitched prop should result in lower, not higher, RPM, and secondly, if it can maintain even the same RPM with the higher-pitched prop, it should produce more thrust, to say nothing of it turning faster.

See also: https://store.flitetest.com/emax-cf2822-1200kv-motor-with-collet/ specifically the 2822; the 2812 looks right to my understanding.

I was a flight instructor for years, and have many hours in controllable-pitch prop aircraft; I can definitively say that increasing the pitch causes the engine to slow down, all else being equal. Yes, you use low pitch for maximum thrust (i.e. takeoff), but that's because it allows the engine to turn faster. Using minimum pitch at the same (or lower) speed produces less thrust, not more.

Please help me understand. :confused:

Could be that the 10x4.7 is a slow-fly prop and the 10x6 is a APC-clone. Different types of props.
Different surface area. Don't forget that we are talking static thrust not in the air thrust. I would guess that the 10x6 is much more efficient at speed.

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Could just be bad data . . . I wouldn't put it past EMAX to fat-finger something in and never catch it.

In that respect, Motor specs are a grain-of-salt thing -- the better the company, the more you pay, the more likely measured meets reality consistently. The cheaper, the less time is spent on the data. User measured data is far more reliable . . . assuming they've been careful in documenting both what and how they measured.

In the end, it's all a thin veneer over TLAR.

OkieDave