New to flying! Would like some guidance as to what transmitter/electronics to use.

ArtyZak

Hello guys,
I am new to the RC hobby and this forum and am excited to be an active member within the community!
I recently finished building the foamboard portion of the FT Spear using plans provided by FliteTest (Thank you for that) and now I'm looking into buying all the electronics.
I was planning on getting:
the twin engine power pack C (https://store.flitetest.com/power-pack-c-fixed-wing-large-twin-engine/)
a Floureon battery (https://www.amazon.com/FLOUREON-2Pa...=1517194756&sr=8-1&keywords=2200mah+3s+2+pack)
a Radiolink AT9S transmitter (https://www.amazon.com/Radiolink-Tr...nements=p_72:1248963011&psc=1#customerReviews)
I was wondering whether the three choices are OK for beginners and would sync together without any issues. I was looking for an affordable transmitter and the Radiolink seems like the best bang for the buck (but then again, I'm a noob as you can tell by my amazon shopping so I'm not sure).
Thank you in advance!

mrf

In terms of transmitter/receiver I am a big fan of the FlySky i6 (sometimes branded as the Turnigy i6). It's 6 channel, and you can store multiple models to it. It also does frequency hopping and buddy boxing and has dual rates/expo. Mine has lasted me 2 years and is still going great. For A$66 it's probably the best value beginner radio out there in my opinion (https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigy-tgy-i6-afhds-transmitter-and-6ch-receiver-mode-2.html).

The radio comes with a receiver pre-bound, but you can pick additional ones up at hobby king pretty cheaply as well (about $13).

With respect to the battery you'll just want to double check that the ESCs in the C power pack come with an XT60 connector to match your battery. It appears that they do from the picture, but someone on the forums will probably be able to confirm.

*Edit:* Changed FrSky to FlySky as pointed out by @rockyboy

Last edited:

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor