Newton Airlines Big Box plane (aka Coroplast Tobledrone)

DuncanM23

I'm just starting out building this which I saw on Andrew Newton's channel: http://newtonairlines.blogspot.com/2023/04/big-box-plane.html
I'm using some coroplast I have getting in the way in the garage right now, plus whatever else is kicking around (includes some carbon arrow shafts).
When I've finished it, it's going to be decorated like this, with an extra D to make it a Tobledrone! :cool:
PXL_20230507_130652133.jpg

So far, I've just cut out the wing ribs and the wing panels. 14 ribs weigh 27g, and the wing panels are 187g each.
PXL_20230508_111425033.jpg

DuncanM23

I taped up the outside of the wing, and then creased up the leading edge, but I wasn't sure which glue to use, so I made the fuse while an experimental gorilla glue piece dries!
The fuse is just a triangular tube (with a foldover for strength). And then I tried to fit a juice bottle to work as the nose, and once I squished it into the right place, I attacked it with a heat gun and it went from being square to being triangular. :)And this also had the side effect of attaching it - I can't remove it now!
PXL_20230508_164453642.jpg

198g for this bit. I was thinking I should reinforce it with carbon tubes in the top corners, but it seems super stiff, so maybe I can get away without it.
The wing (with the fuse in the background):
PXL_20230508_165247509.jpg

Taped but not glued:
PXL_20230508_165343976.jpg

And just placed together:
PXL_20230508_165931070.jpg

Once I have glued the wing, I need to create the V tail (that shouldn't take long), and then it's time to start on the conrol surfaces and the wiring!

DuncanM23