Not a WWII Fighter...

mrjdstewart

Legendary member
...but inspired by the spirit of one.

i humbly introduce my AVG Tiger 2.0, Mark 1.

20170820_151408.jpg

a little back story. i am a teacher and last year taught not only all my students but myself how to fly and build. i am an ex-dirt bike/rally/enduro racer and after a bad crash lost a lot of my ability to maintain that kind of activity. i stumbled upon a FT video of the Alpha, Bravo, Charlie triple pack and was sold. this is my new go fast, tinker, build, crash thing to fill the void.

that was back in february. since then i have built, flown, crashed, more airplanes than i can count. i think i'm getting pretty good but still got a lot to learn based upon some of the amazing work i see here.

so, back to the build;

start of a new year and a student of mine says he wants to build a new plane. i of course say yes! i sit him down in front of a computer. after awhile of looking at multiple sites he says, "na, i want to design one of my own." BINGO! then he says, "i think we both should design and build one of our own, then fly them together."

:D was my response.

Tiger 2.0 is my answer to his challenge. i wanted to do something completely diff from what i had done in the past. not only to challenge myself, but to show my student that even if you fail, you can still learn from it. i hope to make a twin post about his build once his is finished.

so me being my usual confident self went to work, did CG calcs, motor and ESC matching, all the footwork. then started building. i was so tickled by my speed, style, and progress i neglected the golden rule. CG is everything, and don't forget that...

i built an overly larger power pod, stuck the motor way too far back, and mounted the servos behind the CG.

with all that said, here she is...

20170820_151424.jpg

20170820_151452.jpg

20170820_151504.jpg