Rapid-Prototyped Blended-Wing-Body Slope Soarer

Spud_ie

Hi everyone,

On the podcast Rapid-Prototyping (3d printing) has been mentioned a few times relating to parts like motor mounts and camera gimbals.
Here's a project being done in Sheffield (UK), a fully printed airframe with a wingspan of 1.5 metres, coming in at under 2kg.

AMRC - FDM-printed fixed wing UAV

It's a slope soarer at the moment, but there are plans to add ducted fans and more electronics for autonomous flight etc.

Enjoy...
Spud

Spud_ie

Hi Jordan, I'm an import into Sheffield (from Ireland) but good to know there are others around the area on the FT forum. Yea it's Callow bank, there are a couple of other guys in the office who fly there and it was a good place to test the airframe.
I'm only getting started with flying, but it looks like there is no shortage of places to fly around the area.

There were a few people in the office who liked your video of the Sheffield Ski Village, even if it made them sad to see how quickly its turned into a set from the walking dead.

Spud_ie

At the moment the project is really about pushing the limits of the 3d printers and how we design large parts. The group are working on ways to print big parts like wings quickly with little or no waste material and methods to reduce part counts in assemblies.
The UAV is perfect for testing and displaying lots of other things like simulation, materials, electronics etc... and it's not a chore to work on either! :)

eagle4

Hey mate. I'm super impressed that was 3d printed. Was it printed in parts and stuck together? Or do you guys have a massive print volume on your printer? Did you have to sand down the surface? Or did you fly it with the rough 3d printed surface it comes out with? I'd love to learn more.

Spud_ie

Cheers eagle4, we are lucky to have access to a Stratasys Fortus 900mc with a print volume 914 x 610 x 914 mm (36 x 24 x 36 in.).