tricopter maximum flight time

treecopter

Hi!
I'm new to this hobby and i have just finished my tricopter. the tricopter is made of aluminium booms and plywood frame plates, i'ts equipped with apm 2.6 with gps, ntm propdrive 26-28 1000kv with 1045 props, afro slim 20A esc's, 3s 2200 lipo and a tower pro MG90 servo for the tail.

I'm not happy with the way it flies. The flight time is only about six minutes, it oscillates in the yaw axis and lowering the p-gain dont seem to work.

I'm planning on rebuilding it in carbon fiber and do the wiring smarter to make it as light as possible. also I think my motors are bad. It sounds like the ball bearings have got sand in them, they go clacklacklack...

so... I'm wondering what motors and props i should buy for maximum flight time.I also wonder if you guys have some tips and/or tricks to make things as light as possible.

Thanks in advance! :)
/treecopter

Montiey

Master Tinkerer
I would google what other people use as settings for their tricopters. That way you would know if you are forgetting something, or if your gains are way off.

I don't know much about copters, but I have a shipment of stuff on the way for my RCExplorer scratch build tricopter. Hopefully it will work good enough to keep. :p

good luck! Don't get discouraged.

treecopter

@ C0D3M0NK3Y
It is a slow oscillation and my tilt mechanism is very similar to hallstudio's tilt that he use for his tricopters, exept the servo is under the boom.
I don't know the total weight because the kitchen scale is broken. All i knownis that it is quite a bit heavier than my brothers dji phantom .

joshuabardwell

Mentor
For long flight time, first remove weight.

When you say six minutes, is that active flying or just hovering? My quad has a similar setup (980 kv motors, 10x4.5" props, 2200 3S battery) and I get about 6 minutes of active flying, or maybe 8-9 minutes of just hovering. My AUW is about 1 kg.

To get longer flight times, here are some options: