Um, new guy with a homebuilt hot wire foam cutter...

powerlinemanco

First of all, Hey everyone! I'm pretty new to this awesome hobby, and have been having a ball for the last month scratchbuilding planes and crashing them... lol.

Anyway, I have been creeping around the forums before I registered trying to pickup any useful hints and tips to this hobby to try and make it easier on myself. I have been cutting and building foam planes like crazy for the last few weeks(mainly because I keep crashing them so often) and was going through razor blades like crazy. I started scouring the web thinking there has to be an easier way, when lo and behold I came across a thread somewhere in this group about a hot wire cutter. That sparked my curiosity and I had to begin a search of epic proportions for more detail and information on this device that was to simplify and hasten my return to the skies after each air-to-ground catastrophe...

Here is my solution Its still being tweaked here and there. Mainly I'm trying to find the perfect wire to use with my power supply. I keep having issues with it overheating and the hot wire breaking after a dozen or so cuts. If anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them. I am currently using a .013 electric guitar string.

Built this puppy with mostly scrap i had in my garage. Had to buy a few things, like a spring, some eye bolts, the alligator clips, and some 14awg wire.
Works pretty well with the 12v power source, but always looking to improve if you guys have any ideas. you all are way ahead of the curve compared to me I'm sure! LOL

Anyway, let me know what you guys think. Would love some feedback!

See you in the skies! (Eventually!)

Attachments

• IMG_1337.JPG
    IMG_1337.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 16

powerlinemanco

Please disregard the horrible narration. I sent this to a friend who is also getting into the hobby.

Julez

WOT and going nowhere
It's a very band saw-esque hot wire cutter. Very clean build!