Universal Quad Copter Frame

HawkMan

Seeing as I don't have the money quite yet to buy all the multirotor parts I want, I figured I'd load up a 3D program for the first time in a l few years(I used to do a lot of Scifi 3D modeling) and design a multirotor frame that I can 3D print via shapeways when I'm done and allow others to get from shapeways if they want as well.

Seeing as I have no experience with this stuff I'd like some input for what I could or should change on this.

the screw holesare all 2mm right now, I just arbitralily chose that size, I suppose 3mm is the standard I should use ?

The booms are standards 13x13x250 same as rotor bones.

The hole in the middle of the top plate allows mounting the KK2 board safely inside the quad while still being accessible.

At the front the two slits should allow for strapping on a hanging GoPro(need to get the right thickness for the GoPro though)

At the back there's similar slits the other way to strap in a hanging battery.

on the bottom plate in front of the KK2 board I made a recessed section to allow more room to mount in a receiver and such. I may need to remove the bottom vents and make it wider, the "bay" is currently 3cm wide so it's a bit small.

The 3 holes on the top plate in front and behind the KK2 access bay is intended for mounting a raised antenna array I'll start working on now. it can be mounted front or back depending on preference and noise levels. I'll design it kind of like an antenna tower on a ship. A tapering "tower", with a "wing" on the top. the wing should allow mounting of GPS antenna on one side and FPV video antenna on the other away from the RX unit and antenna in the body. I'm thinking I'll have a plased 1/3rd up on it for mounting the FPV transmitter so you won't need a long cable to the antenna.

Unirotor-A 001.jpg

Unirotor-A 002.jpg

Unirotor-A 003.jpg