Warped Tail Feathers

TexMechsRobot

Posted a thousand or more times
So I built a small rubber powered FF from plans and wound up with a warped horizontal stab when everything dried. I'm a little new at this and I am unsure how to straighten it out. Any suggestions?

28195818521_0c3d49d2be_z.jpg

hackofalltrades

Rocket Surgeon
Perhaps spray the area lightly with a spray bottle set to mist, then hold the stab in a position just a little beyond where you want it, and let dry. Should work.

TexMechsRobot

Perhaps spray the area lightly with a spray bottle set to mist, then hold the stab in a position just a little beyond where you want it, and let dry. Should work.

Thanks. This was my initial thought as well so it's nice to see that I was on the right track! Would it help if I sprayed with windex instead of just plain water?

hackofalltrades

Rocket Surgeon
Thanks. This was my initial thought as well so it's nice to see that I was on the right track! Would it help if I sprayed with windex instead of just plain water?

I think using the isopropyl or denatured alcohol as the above comment stated would be the best way. Evaporates much faster too.

Windex can be iffy because the ammonia can affect the balsa. Unless I'm forming pieces, I don't typically use windex. If your balsa is doped well it won't matter, but if you didn't dope it, I'd be concerned about the ammonia softening things. It firms back up when dry, but it definitely affects the wood.

TexMechsRobot

It definitely softened the wood which is kind of what I was going for anyway. I kept the tail in a flat form overnight and it seems to have straightened out nicely. We'll see what happens when I let it sit out of the form for a while.

TexMechsRobot

Within 30 minutes of removing it from the form after leaving it in there for over 12 hours, it started warping back to the original image.