Adventures in Snowballing

Winglet

Not a lot about FT Snowballs on the forums so thought I would post my experience.

I built a couple of FT Nutballs last summer and continue to enjoy those a lot, so the Snowball seemed like a natural for some winter fun.

Building the Snowball is a simple and very fun process. In anticipation of this project I included a SnowBall Conversion Kit in my last Flite Test order a couple of months ago. Snow was in our forecast last week so out came the kit. My Snowball is a combination of the FT Conversion Kit and a scratch build from plans. Big deal....so I cut out 2 parts. Cutting out the whole thing from scratch wouldn't be a big deal. I'm just getting lazy after ordering a number of their kits and I like to send FT a little money to show my support.

Of course the SnowBall needs to be waterproofed. I elected to go with the colored packing tape method. This is something I have never done before and I like it. Nothing could be easier. I'm going to use tape on future models.

My model is built to the plans with no real modifications. I'm running a Blue Wonder motor with an 8x3.8 slow fly prop. So far I've been using a 850mah 3 cell that seems to balance the airplane right on CG. This is the same setup I've use on my NutBalls.