Another 9x question...

lobstermash

Propaganda machine
Mentor
I just put in an order yesterday for a couple of things from hk yesterday and forgot to add a tx lipo for my 9x... Oops. Looking at the tx packs, I was wondering why you need a low discharge battery (ie 1C) and whether a high discharge (20C) would work OK instead. I'm no electrician, but I thought batteries discharge whatever is drawn from them. If that is true, could I use one of my 3s 20C batteries?

pgerts

Old age member
Mentor
Two reasons
- Low dischare is normally cheaper - you dont need the low internal resistance and can manufacture heavier batteries with more capacitey in the same volume.
- TX batteries are normally manufacured to size compatible to the old Nixx packs used in TX.

(some TX batteries have built in electronics and fuse to protect the TX and the battery).
Are you aware of everyting then why bother - use your normal LiPo like many others without problems.

ananas1301

Crazy flyer/crasher :D
Often people also use LiFePo batteries as they are on another range of voltages and suit much better to the actualy voltage of many Tx´s needed.

bicyclemonkey

Flying Derp
Mentor
but check if the 9x supports 3s, some radios could fry....
The 9X uses 8 AA 1.5v batts which is 12v...a 3s lipo is fine. This one is actually a perfect fit but you'll need to change the connector

Rhino 2620mAh 3S 11.1v Low-Discharge Transmitter Lipoly Pack

It's on back-order but but get another 3s that close to the same dimensions.

R2620-3S-.jpg

Last edited:

Pilot Scott

FLY LOW
My JR radio came with a NiCad battery :)