APM2.8.0 Flight Controller w/ Ublox NEO-M8N GPS Newbie wants suggestions

Red_Jeepster

Hello Multi-Rotor Guys,
I am a newbie to Multi-Rotor, and have an APM 2.8.0 controller with the GPS unit. My intention is to use this in my first X Quad. I have the sum experience of flying my Proto-X and also my 1SQ.
I am looking at the FT ELectroboard kit for a platform, and the Quad power kit offered as a combo here in the store.
Initially I will NOT fly it with gimbal and camera, but intend to in the future once I have it flying well enough.
I am no NEWBIE to RC flight - building and flying for 40 years. However, this technical stuff is confusing; motor selection, FPV equipment, Flight controller, GPS etc.

Any suggestions for set-ups?

I'd gladly assist in helping a newbie builder or newbie to SCALE, while I am here. This is one of my planes. Giant Aeromaster.

Thanks,
IM000519.JPG

BankNYank!

Mentor
Hello Red_Jeepster and welcome to the forum!

The ElectroHub frame and FT Power Pack D are an excellent combination!

The APM 2.8 can be a bit of a challenge to get setup. If your lucky and everything works right the first time then your golden. But the reality is that rarely happens with an APM flight controller. Don't get me wrong, APM flight controllers (IMO) are pretty nice, it's just that getting them setup can be a pain. For a first build I would recommend getting a kk2.1.5 flight controller. This was the first FC I used and my quad flew just fine with stock settings. The FC also has a built in display that makes tuning a whole lot easier than most flight controllers. Having this option to tinker while in the field will help you to learn the basics that are the same on any flight controller like tuning PID's.