Beginner opinion

Jkapc

I am contemplating purchasing either a apprentice mini s or a regular full-size apprentice s.

I understand that the regular full size apprentice handles better in the wind and is faster.

I have no prior experience with rc flying.

Would like to get opinions on which would be a better fit for a total beginner like me.

Thanks for suggestions!

FDS

Elite member
The apprentice is a fine choice, it’s expensive new vs something like an AXN Clouds Floater from Hobbyking or the 3 channel Wiltoys Trainer or a Champ.
Don’t be afraid of second hand and Safe mode isn’t a requirement for learning, a gentle trainer with a well set up variable rates radio will do just as well.
Joining a local RC flying club can get you in the air for free, as well as get you instruction and buddy box flying, both of which will teach you more than having a fully stabilised plane with Safe.

Hoomi

Master member
My first plane was the Flyzone Calypso, which is a powered glider, followed a few months later by the Flyzone Sensei. The Sensei is very similar to the Apprentice in appearance and performance, and having spoken to those with the Apprentice, it's a good choice. A larger plane is, IMNSHO, a bit easier to learn with, as it tends to be less twitchy in the air, is easier to keep in sight and easier to keep your orientation (it can be disastrous if you think you're facing one direction, and control accordingly, when you're not!).

If you know someone who has Realflight RC simulator, the Sensei is included as one of the aircraft you can choose. Taking some time to fly it in the simulator is a good way to get the basics of RC flight down, before putting a real plane into the air. With the Sensei being so similar to the Apprentice, the flight characteristics should be almost identical, so you can get an idea of what to expect from the plane.