First quadcopter self building

Sebastian6600

Hi to everybody,
Actually from about an year am using an RC Hely and now I want to build a quadcopter from zero.
I have enough dexterity with these things and the assembly would not be a problem at all, the only thing that gives me a little 'anxiety is the fact if really work!
First I look around on web on project based on Arduino Uno( I have it already ) but I decided to use a MultiWII board.

Considering I'm new to these word, after hours of searching and studying different typologies I write down this material list:

MAIN CARD: MultiWII Atmega32U4
FRAME: Hobbyking Q450mm V3 ( Initially I wanted to built it from myself but they are not so expensive so.. )

MOTORS: 4x HexTronic DT700 Brushless

ESC: 4x Hobbyking 20A 3A UBEC with HobbyKing programmer

PROPELLER: 1x 12x3.8Turnigy CW and 2x CCW

LIPO: 1x ZIPPY 5000mAh 3S1P 20C

CHARGER: Hobbyking 174DC 4S 30w

RADIO: Turnigy 9X V2 with 8ch receiver

I read a lot of pro for the MultiWii, also for the GPS connector( maybe in future).
For the Radio I choose the Turnigy 9X because it don't cost a lot and I can use it in future project.

What you think about it? Wrong materials or I have forget something(omitting various wires and connectors)?
And for last, I choose this medium size because I'll attach in future a video-camera(without put on to much heavy)

Last edited:

Sebastian6600

In my limited experience, my one bit of advice I could offer would be bin the prop drives - everything I have ever read or seen about those motors is bad news...

Go for something like the 2836's 950kv
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/..._D2836_9_950KV_Brushless_Outrunner_Motor.html

or the 750's
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/...D2836_11_750KV_Brushless_Outrunner_Motor.html

IIRC the saying goes "Friends dont let friends buy prop drives"

Drew
Thank you very much :)

Sebastian6600