First time quad build, considering Electrohub

SV650Squid

First time quad build, considering Electrohub EDIT: build started, pic on pg2

Hi guys, first post.

I'm considering getting into quads for goofing around in the park while my kids play, and something to tinker on when I break it. My history in RC is racing trucks and cars from the '90s as a teenager, Losi XXT, an HPI 4WD sedan, and a Tamaya F103. I currently professionally drive a robot for the Air Force (I'm an EOD tech).

I really like the Electrohub, I wish I knew when it'd get back in stock.

Anyways, I'm considering the RTF quads Flip 1.5 electronics kit, and I'm thinking about adding the barometer/mag addon board.

For a transmitter, I'm thinking about a Turnigy 9xr, and I'm leaning on this FrSky radio module http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__14355__FrSky_DF_2_4Ghz_Combo_Pack_for_JR_w_Module_RX.html
Would this be a transmitter/module I could grow with?

They used Zippy 2200mah battery in the build video on youtube. Is this a good battery to start with, or should I use something else? NiMH was the new hotness when I got out of RC last, so LiPo's are new to me. I understand they need a decent charger, and shouldn't be charged too fast.

Thanks!

Last edited:

C0d3M0nk3y

Posted a thousand or more times
I like the ElectroHub a lot. It simplifies the power distribution, which is one of the trickiest parts of building a quad. If you want to make your own power distribution, you can download the plans and cut your own AnyCopter plates out of some plywood. The AnyCopter is the predecessor to the ElectroHub.

If you're going to get the 9XR just to add the FrSky module, you might want to consider just getting the FrSky Taranis transmitter instead. It will cost a little more, but it's a very well built transmitter that I think is a great bargain for the price.

I have limited experience with the Zippy batteries. I tend to prefer the Turnigy lipos.

cranialrectosis

Faster than a speeding face plant!
Mentor