French family enjoying slope soaring

buzuc

Hi guys,
as said in the title I'm a french 41 years old guy. I have a wife and two kids (11 and 9). I'm also a RC glider pilot for nearly 30 years now.

I had to stop building and flying glider for 15 years for a lot of reasons I don't have to explain here.
During the summer holidays in my parent's home in Britanny I found my old planes in a cardboard box and, after I dropped a tear or two, I decided to get back to it.

I didn't want to refurbish my old planes because of the time available so I decided to build something quick. After a few internet search I found your website and videos and decided to build a tiny trainer in glider mode.

I couldn't find any dollar tree foam board here in France or at a price I couldn't afford to pay so I went for depron.
I had to modify the plan a bit to match with the 6mm thickness of the depron (DTF is 5mm). Yes, I'm using the metric system!
Printed the tiled plan, tape the sheets together and glued them directly on the board with a thin layer of glue stick.
We built the trainer in two days with the help of my daughter (cutting the part) and son (in charge of the glue gun).
The only difference with DTF is that I taped the depron (reinforced tape) on the outside before scoring as the depron doesn't have any paper layer.

I then bought a brand new 6 channels 2.4GHz set in my local RC shop (25 km away) with micro servos and 800mAh battery and installed everything in the fuselage.
I have to say here that I was very suprised and happy to see the price for the servos so low compared to the price they were when I was younger.

Anyway, after a few hand launch on the local football a.k.a. soccer to trim the little beast we went on the shore to see if the places I was flying were still there.

They were! and with a tiny sea breeze we flew for hours thanks to the 800mAh battery.

And the whole family had a chance to fly the plane (once I managed to bring it to a safe altitude).