Hello! I'm new!

Tom3052

Hello! I'm Tom. I have been flying for a little over twenty years. I took a bit of a leave from hobbies in general when I got married and started having kids. I'm getting back into it now, thanks to the concept of foam board planes. I scratch build. My first one that is mostly complete is an FT simple cub. I tweaked the plans a tad, adding 3/4" of length to each wing section to utilize the full width of a sheet of board. I skipped the dihedral step so it's a flat wing. With some oversized tires, I'm going for a bush STOL plane. I just started on an FT mustang as well. I'm contemplating cutting flaps into it. It doesn't need them, but it would look super cool. Has anyone had any success with servoless retracts on foam board models? That's another thing I am considering. I look forward to the introduction of the standard swappable size scout as that might be #3. I also want to do a Lancaster bomber. A big one. 60" or bigger wingspan. I'll probably engineer that one myself. I fathom that four mini swappables should have enough thrust. Either a Lancaster or a C-120 with swappable cargo pods and all. My 3 year old daughter is adamant that these are her planes. I will build one for her. A pink sparrow probably. I will make it RC, maybe a plane launched glider or an EDF glued into the V of the tail as someone has previously recommended to me.