Help me pick out my a battery charging system.

Krtismo

Hey everyone, I'm new to the hobby so I'll be starting with nothing, but I'm looking for advice on picking out a battery charging/checking setup that is a good value and will last me a while.

I think I would like something versatile that can charge batteries at home or in my car similar to this one:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__6478__IMAX_B6_AC_Charger_Discharger_1_6_Cells_GENUINE_.html

I'm also assuming a battery checker would be a handy tool to have?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__41637__H_King_Cellmeter_7_Lipo_Life_Li_ion_Nimh_Nicd_Digital_Battery_Checker_With_Balance_Function.html

Those are just examples though so feel free to give me some ideas of what would be good for me. I would like to avoid buying from HobbyKing due to shipping costs and customer service, but I won't rule them out completely. Also, feel free to recommend any other accessories that might be helpful.

I'll be charging mostly 3S Lipo's for multirotors and small to medium aircraft.

Thanks!

Tactical Ex

I highly recommend the Accucel 6 by Turnigy. I and many others have had great success with that. I regret not buying it first.

Tactical Ex

What would you recommend for a power supply?

You can find them on ebay by searching for "Accucel 6 adaptor" but I made my own by going to the thrift store with the battery connector in hand from the Accucel 6 and compared it to the box of misc chargers in the electronics box. I had to solder a connector from one to the other but it works great. Just make sure you match up the mah and Amps.

Ron B

Posted a thousand or more times
I use the imax B6AC and it will charge 2s through 6s and doesn't need a power source, just plug into the wall or use the included cord to hook up to your car battery.

jhitesma

Some guy in the desert
Mentor
Instead of the battery checked I'd strongly suggest spending a bit more (ok twice as much) and getting a watt meter instead: