Help with speed setup: high kv, 4s, or fast prop

Amiromaan

Hello all!
I'm planning to build the nnP-39 and I'm trying to find out some stuff about the setup. I would like speed, but the 120mph is a bit overkill for me I think, as I have a lot of trees around the field and I'm not super skilled yet.:black_eyed:
I'm still a bit of a noob in this stuff, although I understand the basics. I would like to learn some more about it.

I'm seeing different setups to get speed:
- high kv motors
- 4s-6s batteries
- or fast props like a 10x10

I understand why these setups would provide more speed, but I don't understand the differences between them.

If you use 3s lipo on a 1600kv motor, would that actually be the same as putting a 4s on a 1200kv? They both result in 4800...something rotations (don't know the exact units or voltages). Or do I misunderstand this?

And using a 8x4 prop on a 2000kv or a 8x8 prop on a 1000kv? I understand that the first one rotates twice as fast and I can imagine that that does something with the available thrust, but also maybe with efficiency? But the progression through the air theoretically is the same right?

The RECOMMENDED ELECTRONICS I'm looking at are:
ADVANCED (60mph)
MOTOR - NTM 35-36 1400kv
PROP - 9x6 APC
ESC - 60a Dynam
BATTERY - 2200mah 3S

I'm wondering if this could be upgraded to a 4s lipo once I'm skilled enough for more speed. Is that possible? Or maybe a 8x8 prop instead? I really am confused! ;)

Foam Addict

Squirrel member
Yes that should work fine, the 7x10 prop that was just mentioned in the P-39 thread would be a good speed hop up, but test it thoroughly with the 9x6 first. The 7x10 won't have nearly the acceleration of the 9x6 prop, and if you have a bad launch you might not have enough thrust to fly out of it.

Amiromaan

Thanks for your reply. I understand that a 7 or 8x10 would be faster than the 9x6. But why choose a faster prop en not choose the 4S instead of the 3S?

dayve