Hi All ~ First Post

Hey fellas. I have been studying this aviation nonsense for some time and have decided that I want to take a crack at it. I placed an order for the Bat Bone and all the trimmings for the V Tail build. Since I am new at this, I am hunting down all the info I can get and it is like trying to take a small sip - from a fire hydrant! There is just so much info out there and so many rabbit holes to go down - that I am getting lost and side tracked constantly.

This is my first build - is there a comprehensive COMPLETE parts list? I saw the excellent vid and article by Dave and that is all fine and dandy... but I need ALL the parts spelled out for me for the first vid. Could any of you fellas fill in the blanks left by our hosts? I know enough to be dangerous but I would rather not guess on components if I don't have to.

Your two cents is sincerely appreciated.

Balu

Lurker
Staff member
Admin
Hi Glenfilthie,

welcome to the forum :)

First things first: When building models you will never have all the parts you need on the first try. It's like going in a home improvement store, coming back and noticing that you forgot the screws, go back, buy, come home and realize the battery of your electric screwdriver is broken...

I haven't build a Bat Bone, but I can give you a few hints on general quads:

• basic frame
  • arms (and replacement-arms)
  • self-adhesive velcro
  • zip-ties in different length and widths
  • probably additional wires (not sure about the sizes, I just use what I have available)
  • solder
  • shrink wrap
  • (3.5mm bullet connectors if you want to be able to disconnect motors)
  • XT60 battery connector
  • LiPo battery
  • 4 motors
  • 4 ESCs with enough amps to drive the motors, if possible with SimonK firmware
  • 4 props
  • a trillion more props

Probably the most common setup is 8x4.5" props, motors in the 1000kv area, 20-30 A ESCs and a 2200 mAh LiPo.

Thanks Balu!!!