I'm new here and have a new Quadrotor. Your Input is appreciated.

HawK86uk

Professional Amateur
Hey everyone!

I've been watching alot of the FliteTest videos on YT and thought I'd head over to the forum and a) introduce myself b) ask for input on my setup and methods.

So, me, I've never flown anything RC wise other than the small toy helo's that you can get for £30. As a present a friend got me a kit Quad. I've taken it on a couple of smashing adventures (for it, not so much for me!). I'm a beginner in pretty much every sense of the word but eager to learn and have some fun. I'm UK based so if anyone has any UK rules I should be aware of, let me know.

My Quad is:
Carbonfibre 1 piece frame (not sure what brand). I've ordered a turnigy plastic spare frame (detachable arms in case they break? Consider me SOLD!)
2200kv Motors, I don't believe they're branded.
5045 Triblade Propellers (I've read and it sounds i may want to switch to 5030 until I'm a bit more capable). About as large as my quad will take in terms of diameter.
KK2.1.5 Control board.
Skywing 10a SW10a ESCs
2200 mah 11v 30c 3S1P Battery.

TxRx I'm not sure on (Not at home so can't check).

I've set everything up where I can (person that bought the quad did alot of the construction so where knowledge is lacking that's why, but I'm trying to learn).

I'm finding on take off that it likes to flip end over. I've played with the P & I Gain a little but not had much luck. It also Yaw's on the ground if I accelerate (sounds like it's not balanced / trimmed?).

I'm running the Quad X set up on the KK with the most recent firmware, I've set the accelerometers up on a flat surface and I've matched all the inputs on the KK down to 0 Trim (or as close as possible). Rotors are spinning right direction and have leading edge of the rotor facing the spin, in line with the KK QX set up.