Introductory Post

Threedog

Hi everyone! Just wanted to take a minute to introduce myself. I am brand new to RC flight and even RC in general. Decided to pursue this hobby after I received a big ol' Chinese quadcopter for Christmas. I love any kind of hands-on/DIY activity, and so I did some searching online for DIY RC flight and came across FT (y'all had me at Sea Duck lol). So far I have still not flown an airplane, but I did just complete the Simple Scout. Just waiting on my transmitter and I'll be ready to give 'er a go. There are not a lot of RC aviators in my area, so for the time being I'm kind of going it alone, which is ok since my preferred method of learning a new discipline is to just take a crack at it, fix all the stuff I broke, and carry on. So far, I'm really digging the energy and creativity in this forum, and I can't wait to start learning and building and contributing!

epsilon

Lol, welcome threedog! That is basically how I got into this about 2 years ago now. Got a entry level quad for Christmas and I caught the bug. Not surprised, I literally asked for a rc plane/heli every single year growing up for as long as I can remember but never got one. Literally started in the same boat, 0 experience, 0 local help.

My tips
Watch the basic flight 101 vids FT have made.
Do your preflight! Especially distance test! This is what prevented me from successfully flying for far longer than I'd care to admit. It also cost me my first battery and servos. Long story short I finally found the antenna in my radio had popped off the pcb board, fixed it and what do you know, had my first successful flight!
Don't give up! You will crash... a lot but that's part of the fun.

If I can make a recommendation for your next plane(s). The versa wing is a quick, easy build, and a ton of fun to fly. Different characteristics from a traditional air frame so will challenge you in a different way.